Taquana “Tabby” Sears, a Charlotte Dentistry patient, has agreed to share her Invisalign experience with us on a regular basis.  She’ll give us reports on how she’s doing with Invisalign, including ups and downs.  Below is her first blog entry.

Thinking about getting Invisalign? Come take a  ride with me through my Invisalign journey.

I just completed the first 2 months of an 18 month treatment.  As you can probably imagine, it took a few days to get used to the trays. So I spoke like Daffy Duck for a day or two, but that quickly went away..

What’s really cool is no one knows I’m straightening my teeth unless I tell them since they are virtually invisible.

Changing the trays every 2 weeks was also something I had to get used to. You know, the brain tends to get away from you after you reach a certain age.. So I have it scheduled in my smartphone to remind me every two weeks….problem solved!

I experience a little tightness when I first change the trays. I choose to change my trays at night so by time I wake up, the soreness has eased up…problem solved again! I expected the tightness going into this because I decided to take this journey in my late 30’s. I have had these teeth for most of my life and now I’m making them move. So my “late 30’s” teeth may be a little stubborn.

The most amazing thing is, I can see subtle changes in my smile already! My overbite is slowly going away!  It’s comforting to know these little plastic trays are working!

Overall…my first 2 months have been an adjustment, but I am so glad I chose this route as opposed to braces. Continue to follow my Invisalign journey for more insight into this exciting adventure!

Please feel free to post any questions you may have.  I’ll try to answer them for you.

