Taquana “Tabby” Sears, a Charlotte Dentistry patient, has agreed to share her Invisalign experience with us on a regular basis.  For the last several months, she’s given us reports on how she’s doing with Invisalign, including ups and downs.  Below is her latest blog entry.

I just picked up trays 7-9.  During this visit, I had to have my front 5 teeth filed down. Due to the overcrowding on the top, it became VERY tight in between my teeth. I started to feel a little soreness after the filing.  I think this must be the reason why I had the tray #7 blues.  This time,  I found myself taking some ibuprofen to ease the pain.  However, this pain did completely go away after the first night with them on.  So, I say all of that to say this…..yes, there will be some discomfort, but it definitely goes away!  Always remember, the discomfort indicates these trays are working!

Usually it takes a few extra minutes to put in the bottom trays when I first change them. However, this time I broke out in a sweat and there was drool everywhere! It took me about 30 minutes to finally get them on.  So, there may be times of excessive drool and a little sweat to get your trays in, but, they are made specifically for you, so they will get in there!

On a lighter note, I found that I lost 10 pounds since I started invisalign! I find that I snack less now.  Constantly taking the trays out to eat and then brushing my teeth afterwards can become time consuming.  The reality is, they are not working if they are not in your mouth!  I also was forced to stop giving my teeth a “sugar bath” with juice, tea and soda.  I now only drink water when I’m thirsty.  These minor changes have helped me lose the weight and I owe it all to invisalign!  That alone outweighs the tray # 7 blues!  Thank you invisalign!

Keep following my 18-month invisalign ride! I am available for any questions you may have.

